ToonTownReviews

 See what movies are good and not so good... Reviews are from the perspective of a ToonTown guy and select reviewers. There are hundreds of collectible posters available thru ToonTownReviews! Click on any of the images to order safely and securely! (This is the sister site of 'OZ - The 'Other' Side of the Rainbow) ***If there is a copyright issue, please email me by clicking on 'Email ToonTownReviews!' in the Links section and I will provide credit, change it to a link, or remove the post.***

    

Saturday, February 11, 2006

The nominations are out and the race is on for Oscar glory!


Brokeback Mountain is the early leader with 8 nominations.



(LOS ANGELES) (AP) — Adding this to its list of honors, "Brokeback Mountain" had scored again by taking the top prize at the 15th annual Producers Guild of America Awards... now it looks like Brokeback is heading for Best Picture Drama at The Oscars...

Diana Ossana and James Schamus, who produced the Ang Lee-directed story of two ranch hands who conceal an ongoing homosexual affair from their families, took home the guild's top prize, the Darryl F. Zanuck producer of the year award.





Buy these great posters and photo stills at MovieGoods.com®

Ossana also co-wrote the screenplay with famed Western author Larry McMurtry.

"Brokeback" won four Golden Globes only a few weeks ago -- including best picture honors in the drama category -- and has been lauded by critics' groups around the country.


 

Can't think of what to get someone? Get a gift certificate from MovieGoods.com®

* Reviews posted here do not necessarily reflect the views of The Wizard of 'OZ'

* Reviewers do not necessarily endorse MovieGoods.com®


Thursday, February 09, 2006

Final Destination 3


Theatre Release : February 10, 2006

The fright-filled Final Destination franchise returns to theaters in the supernatural thriller "Final Destination 3". Set six years after the original Final Destination film, the latest installment in the series centers around a high school senior who has a premonition of a fatal roller coaster accident involving herself and all her friends.



Buy this and other great movie posters from MovieGoods.com

When the premonition proves true, those who have "cheated death" and survived the accident are forced to deal with the repercussions of escaping their fate.

"Final Destination 3" stars Ryan Merriman ("The Ring Two") and Mary Elizabeth Winstead. The film is directed by James Wong ("Final Destination").

<<"Considering the slew of "Horror Lite" that we have been drowning in in recent years, I have to admit I didn't expect too much from this installment. I said all the things you probably did. "It's already been done." "How many times can they redo the same idea?" "What's the point?" and the ever popular "The first one was cool but the second one sucked!" I love when they prove me wrong.

While it is true that the idea has been done, it has not been done like this before. I won't go into the plot details because you've all seen the first one. If you haven't then I recommend you do. Final Destination was an original idea with some nice, inventive death scenes. Final Destination 3 amps up the carnage with buckets of gore. Not only is there more of it, but they sit on it for several seconds much to the glee of starving audiences. We are not left wanting; we get to see it all. How often can you say that about flicks like this one? Is it teen-y? Sure. Is it funny in parts? Hell yeah it is. Is it fun to watch? You have no idea.

From the first accident scene (which we all know is coming) to the very last death (almost) we are taken on a thrilling ride of blood, gasps, and "oh my Gods!" at every cringe-inducing turn. I am not known for being affected by horror films as a rule. But this one was truly a disgustingly good time. The effects are dead on, the pacing is perfect, and even the acting is good.

If you think that fun horror is a thing of the past or that you just can't get sucked in anymore, you may be in for a really big treat; I was pleasantly surprised. Of course it has its predictable moments, but just when you think you know the score, Death comes at you with something you didn't expect. These guys hold nothing back and obviously have a great time doing it. I know I had a great time watching it.

A sidenote to my hard-core horror hounds: you should like it as well. Despite the few bubble-gummy moments, Final Destination 3 will have the most voracious audiences gobbling it up and licking the plate. You can't watch this one without rooting for Death cause you really enjoy the fruits of his labor.">>**

**Review by: moviemaven, Horror Movies.ca


 

Can't think of what to get someone? Get a gift certificate from MovieGoods.com®

* Reviews posted here do not necessarily reflect the views of The Wizard of 'OZ'

* Reviewers do not necessarily endorse MovieGoods.com®


Wednesday, February 08, 2006

Curious George - Show me the monkey! Opening Feb 10


Theatrical Release Date: Feb 10, 2006 (Wide)

Cast & Crew:
Will Ferrell, Joan Plowright, David Cross, David Cross, Eugene Levy directed by Jun Falkenstein.

Synopsis:
Curious George and The Man With The Yellow Hat Universal Pictures and Imagine Entertainment bring Curious George, the original "monkey see, monkey do" chimp, to the screen in an all-new animated adventure based upon the beloved tales that have been enchanting readers for more than 60 years. George, the inquisitive little guy with an insatiable taste for adventure, sets off in a brand new tale for the big screen, where his spunky and fun-loving nature endears him to new friends he meets along thre way and (of course) lands him in a series of (mis)adventures.



Buy this and other great posters from MovieGoods.com®


Originally published in 1941, the book has never been out of print since. Authors H.A. Rey and his wife Margret, creative partners who fled Europe during the Nazi occupation and settled in Cambridge, Massachusetts, wrote the original seven Curious George tales. In 1998 Houghton-Mifflin began publishing new Curious George adventures and continues to release new titles and formats. Curious George titles have sold more than 30 million copies worldwide and have been published in 17 languages, making the little monkey who left the jungle with The Man with the Yellow Hat one of the best-selling and most enduring characters in children's literature.

Will Ferrell (Elf, Old School) lends his voice to The Man with the Yellow Hat, Dick Van Dyke, Drew Barrymore, David Cross, Eugene Levy and Joan Plowright are also among the distinguished cast of voices. Original songs are written and performed by Jack Johnson.

Official Website:
The Official Curious George Site

Reviews:

1) I was a big “Curious George” fan… when I was five. So, it’s safe to assume that the movie is being marketed to a similar demographic. As it should be.

They haven’t bothered with flashy, 3D animation. Instead they’re going 2D, though they’ve given the movie what appears to be a rather unique looking style. I’m sure the kids will love it. In fact, now they don’t even need to bother reading, they can just watch it on TV. Embrace illiteracy young fella.

What I’m wondering is what makes this movie worth putting out in theaters. Is there really that big a Curious George market? I mean, why isn’t this a direct to video release? What’s the deal with all the big name voice talent? Drew Barrymore? Will Ferrell? That’s heavy hitting. That’s a better cast than most CGI movies manage, and those actually make money. Maybe there’s more to this movie than there appears to be on the surface. Or maybe Universal just overspent.

*Previewed by Joshua Tyler

2) As computer-animated movies like Ice Age and Finding Nemo continue to do quite well at the box office, and traditionally-animated movies like Sinbad: Legend of the Seven Seas and The Wild Thornberrys do quite poorly, there's a lot of talk in the film industry that perhaps traditional is on its last legs, and soon nearly all animated feature films will be CGI. There are still traditional movies being made, but it is true that it seems we keep hearing about more CGI movies being developed, and even many projects that were originally planned as traditional are now being converted to CGI. A glimmer of hope for the old school style, however, is the example this project provides, however, because after 10+ years of trying to get a 'Curious George' movie going that would incorporate some sort of CGI, they have finally decided that the best (and cheapest) way to capture the spirit of George, the Man in the Yellow Hat and the world they live in is to take advantage of the sweetness that traditional animation suggests. I think this is sort of a no-brainer; the simple drawings of the book seem obviously easier to transfer to 2-D artwork than to try and give them 3-D life (much less try to adapt that artwork in live-action). Of course, I feel the same way about the art of Dr. Seuss, but Universal keeps making live-action versions of his stuff, but it's good to see this is a case where they made what I think is the right decision.

Curious George A bit of news that I can offer the world today that I don't think has been reported elsewhere yet is that I heard from an anonymous source over the weekend that Will Ferrell has signed on to provide the voice for the Man in the Yellow Hat. When I first heard the news, I was under the impression that Universal was still going for live-action for the character, and I have to say... he immediately struck me as a brilliant choice. Will Ferrell would look INSANELY GREAT in that yellow hat. But, you know, even though it turns out they're just going to be using his voice, he's still a good choice. Will has a broadly comedic and acrobatic vocal range that should work well for El Hombre del Sombrero Amarillo.

I also think Jun Falkenstein might be just the director this project needs to properly adapt these sweet tales of a precocious chimp to the big screen. With a guy whose major project has been The Tigger Movie at the helm, I think we can safely be assured that this isn't going to be a puerile movie with "gross out" humor, etc. I think that's what some people might expect from a chimp movie, but really... Curious George isn't that sort of chimp movie. It's got to be sweet and nostalgic, or it's not really Curious George.


*By Greg (Yahoo! Movies)

 

Can't think of what to get someone? Get a gift certificate from MovieGoods.com®

* Reviews posted here do not necessarily reflect the views of The Wizard of 'OZ'

* Reviewers do not necessarily endorse MovieGoods.com®


Tuesday, February 07, 2006

Freedomland


Cast: Julianne Moore, Samuel L. Jackson

Based on Richard Price's bestselling novel, which opens as a bruised and bloodied white woman named Brenda Martin stumbles into a Dempsey, New Jersey, emergency room, claiming that a black man stole her car with her four-year-old son in the backseat. Veteran detective Lorenzo Council is assigned to investigate the case, and despite reservations about Brenda's story, he launches an all-out search for the abducted boy. Jesse Haus, an ambitious young reporter for the local newspaper, also suspects that Brenda is hiding something, and she befriends the grief-stricken mother in an attempt to break the biggest story of her career. But as the search for the alleged carjacker intensifies, smoldering racial tensions between the predominantly black city of Dempsey and its mostly white neighbor, Gannon, threaten to explode.


Freedomland - Samuel L Jackson - Julianne MooreFreedomland - Samuel L Jackson - Julianne Moore
Buy these and other great 1 sheet** movie posters from MovieGoods.com®


Late one night in a working class New Jersey suburb, a bloodied woman staggers mute and dazed into the emergency room at the Dempsy Medical Center. After treatment for shock and hysteria, Brenda Martin recounts to Dempsy police detective Lorenzo Council a horrific tale of being carjacked on the isolated strip of undeveloped land that divides Dempsy's urban housing projects from the blue collar town of Gannon, where she lives. She claims she was forced out of her car by a black man, but during the interrogation Council senses he's not getting the whole story. Only after hours of questioning does Brenda finally break down and confess that her four-year-old son, Cody, was asleep in the back seat of the stolen car. Led by activist Karen Collucci, members of the communities of Dempsy and Gannon unite in a search for the missing child, but the criminal investigation into the alleged kidnapping by a suspect who is presumed to be a local from the projects soon ignites long-simmering racial tensions between the two towns.


View the trailer.



**One Sheet - Size: 27" x 41" (typically pre - 1985); 27" x 40" (typically post - 1985)

Type: Printed on paper stock. Before 1985, usually folded; after 1985, usually rolled.

History: Traditionally, the one-sheet (OS) is the "standard" size for movie advertising in North America. The one sheet is undeniably the most popular size for collectors and consumers alike. Most new movie releases since 1985 were advertised using this size

 

Can't think of what to get someone? Get a gift certificate from MovieGoods.com®

* Reviews posted here do not necessarily reflect the views of The Wizard of 'OZ'

* Reviewers do not necessarily endorse MovieGoods.com®


Monday, February 06, 2006

"Cars"


Pixar/Disney's Animated Car Movie


(BURBANK, CA - Film legend Paul Newman has been set to lend his voice to a car character in the upcoming animated feature, "Cars," the latest film from Pixar Animation Studios' Academy Award(R)-winning director John Lasseter ("Toy Story," "Toy Story 2," and "A Bug's Life") and presented by Walt Disney Pictures.


Cars - The Pixar - Disney movie
Buy this and other great movie posters from MovieGoods.com®


In conjunction with this new role, Newman will take the wheel of the Disney/Pixar sponsored racecar on January 31st and February 1st at "The Rolex 24 At Daytona" race in an attempt to break his own record. Newman holds a place in the Guinness Book of World Records as the oldest driver to win a professionally sanctioned race in 1995 at Daytona. Racing on a team with NASCAR champ Kyle Petty, Michael Brockman, and Gunnar Jeannette, Newman is hoping to establish a new record at the age of 79.

The car he will be driving is a Fabcar-Porsche Daytona Prototype.


Cars - The Pixar - Disney movieCars - The Pixar - Disney movie
Buy these and other production stills from MovieGoods.com®


"Cars," the seventh animated feature to be created by Pixar Animation Studios and released by Walt Disney Pictures, is a high octane adventure comedy that features a wide assortment of cars as characters who get their kicks on Route 66. In addition to Paul Newman, the voice cast includes NASCAR legend Richard Petty, as well as Owen Wilson ("Shanghai Knights," "The Royal Tenenbaums"), Bonnie Hunt ("Monsters, Inc."), and Dan Whitney (Bravo's "Larry the Cable Guy"). "Cars" is being produced by Darla K. Anderson ("A Bug's Life," "Monsters, Inc."), and is due to be released holiday, 2005.

Commenting on the announcement, Newman said, "It's great to have another shot at Daytona and to be teamed up with some of the best drivers in the world. We've got a competitive car, thanks to Disney and Pixar, and we're ready for the challenge. I'm also looking forward to having some fun playing a car for John Lasseter in the film 'Cars.'"

Pixar's Lasseter added, "Paul Newman is an acting and racing legend. He is one of the greatest actors of all time, and his love and close association with automobiles makes him the perfect choice for our film. I can't wait to see him beat his own record at Daytona and he'll have a lot fans here at Pixar cheering him on."


Cars - The Pixar - Disney movie
Buy these coffee mugs and other movie memorabilia from MovieGoods.com®


Dick Cook, chairman of The Walt Disney Studios, said, "It's always a great pleasure working with the incredible team at Pixar. 'Cars' is going to deliver just what audiences have come to expect from them -- great storytelling, cutting edge animation, and superb acting from the animated characters and the actors who play them. Having Paul Newman and Richard Petty providing voices is inspired casting and will add to the fun. All of us at Disney are also excited to be co-sponsoring Paul's car at Daytona and know that he'll do us proud."

"CARS" MOVIE VIDEOS


*By Rebecca Murray, Your guide to Hollywood

 

Can't think of what to get someone? Get a gift certificate from MovieGoods.com®

* Reviews posted here do not necessarily reflect the views of The Wizard of 'OZ'

* Reviewers do not necessarily endorse MovieGoods.com®


Sunday, February 05, 2006

X-Men 3


X-Men 3 - XMEN - X-Men - XMEN3
Buy this and other "ADVANCE"** posters from MovieGoods.com®

Status: In production - October release.

Cast: Daniel Cudmore as Colossus, Shawn Ashmore as Iceman, Aaron Standford as Pyro, Rebecca Romjin as Mystique, Hugh Jackman as Wolverine, Famke Janssen as Jean Grey, Vinne Jones as Juggernaut, Kesley Grammer as Beast, James Marsden as Cyclops , Patrick Stewart as Professor X, Ian McKellan as Magneto, Anna Paquin as Rouge, Halle Berry as Storm, Ben Foster as Angel/Archangel, Ellen Page as Kitty Pride/Shadowcat, Cayden Boyd as Young Angel, Cameron Bright as Leech, Olivia Williams as Dr. Moira McTaggert, Bill Duke as a politican, Michael Murphy as Warren Worthington Sr., Shohreh Aghdashloo as Dr. Kavita Rao, Eric Dane as Multiple Man, Omahyra Mota as Stacy X, Dania Ramirez as Callisto.

Synopsis: Third installment of the X-Men films. No story has been confirmed, BUT, I think its safe to say that the third part will revolve around the Phoenix saga. Reports indicate the producers want to skip ahead and go straight into the Dark Phoenix story. New characters rumored to be in X3 include Gambit, Beast, and Angel.

Official Site

* The meat of this issue is exactly the right move for this story to make at this time. Whedon has set up the basic issues for his limited run: a cure for mutancy exists, it’s apparently legitimate, and various factions are involved in the creation of it.

Rather than explore those factions in detail yet, Whedon keeps the focus on his main characters, and their varied reactions to this climactic news. There’s no way this topic is not politicized, not for these warriors on the front lines of mutant rights. So here Whedon has allowed himself to do what he does best, what he developed so well in three excellent TV shows: he lets people who care deeply about each other rip each other apart while we watch.

There’s been quick movement on the “Beast wants the cure” front, opposed this issue by a very spooked Wolverine. Whedon is the true successor to Morrison on the X-books (sadly, he may be the only current writer who even understood what Morrison was doing), and he’s zeroed in on the fear and self-doubt that Morrison’s Hank only barely dealt with.

He’s also keeping Kitty (a fairplayer by nature) and Emma (never one to worry about her own contradictions) in sharp focus. And if Scott’s still a bit of a blank … well, when isn’t he?
*by Shawn Hill, SBC (Silver Bullet Comics
**Advance Posters: Sometimes called "Teasers", Advance One-Sheets are released before the film comes out. Some of the Advance posters have completely different artwork than the poster accompanying the final release version. Some are identical to the release One-Sheet, with the only difference being the word "Advance", "Coming Soon", or a specific date will be printed along the bottom.


 

Can't think of what to get someone? Get a gift certificate from MovieGoods.com®

* Reviews posted here do not necessarily reflect the views of The Wizard of 'OZ'

* Reviewers do not necessarily endorse MovieGoods.com®


 

http://www.makepovertyhistory.org